District No. 6920 | Club No. 4189

November 18, 2019

Meeting Minutes

President Scott Williams rang the bell and called the meeting to order. Jeff Flowers led us in the pledge and invocation. Jeff Simless updated us on the Football Follies. Frank Mulherin is in the lead YTD at 62.5%. Faye Hargrove gave the Sunshine Report. Last week we raised $371.25 for the Cart Fund. Last week our inside challenger was Laverne Gaskins and our outside challenger was Mack Lander, LLC. This week our inside challenger is James Hefner and our outside challenger is Signature Speech Services, LLC. Tom Clark introduced our guests and visiting Rotarians. President Scott Williams introduced our GRSP Student William Baerenholdt.

President Scott Williams gave an announcement that we have officially kicked off the signature fundraiser raffle with the Horizon Foundation. We are excited about our continued partnership with Mercedes Benz of Augusta and the Dr. Mac Bowman Horizon Foundation.  As with last year, we are asking each Rotarian to assist with buying or selling tickets.  Tickets will be available at each meeting between now and February 10th or from President Scott Williams at any time.  The reverse raffle with be held at Mercedes Benz of Augusta on February 14th like last year.  You will be receiving a letter with additional information within the week. 

As President Scott Williams mentioned at our last meeting, our recipient charity this year will be Christ Community Health Services.  At our next meeting on December 2nd, the Director of Public Relations and Development will be our guest and will tell the club a little more about the mission and impact of the organization.

With much honor our very own Ed Presnell has been selected to be District 6920 Governor for Rotary year 2022-2023. We know he will do a wonderful job and we are so proud of him.

Ed Presnell introduced our guest speaker Dr. Kenneth Bradshaw, Superintendent of the Richmond County School System.

Dr. Kenneth Bradshaw became the Superintendent of the Richmond County School System in August of 2019. He has over 30 years of educational experience. Prior to his new position, Dr. Bradshaw served as the chief operations officer for Hamilton County Schools in Tennessee. He also formerly served as Deputy Superintendent of Operations and Administrative Services for the RCSS under Dr. Pringle from 2014-2018.

The RCSS has over 32,000 students. It is also the third largest employer of Richmond County. Dr. Bradshaw has a mission of creating a world class, globally competitive school system where all students will graduate and are college/career ready. He plans on achieving this by deploying a new strategic plan that has 5 main areas of focus, see below. Dr. Bradshaw has a vision of creating a school system that is equitable and educational for all students.

  • Operations
  • Culture and Climate
  • High Performing Culture and Work Force
  • Parent, Family, and Community Engagement
  • Student Academic Achievement and Success

Following the program President Scott Williams led the club in the four-way test and adjourned the meeting

Easy links to pages on our website
Rotary schedule of meeting dates and speakers  
Member Proposal Form 
Online directory - Find a member or update your information
Bulletins - Weekly bulletins from 2014-current


CART buckets
Inside Challenger: James Heffner
Outside Challenger: Signature Speech Service, LLC


Remember to include our GRSP student: William Baeronholdt
Cell Number : 706-550-2331
Email: WBaerenholdt@augusta.edu


Dr. Kenneth Bradshaw
Patrick Wells
Eileen Brandon
Jordan Johnson

Guest Of
Guest Speaker
Wes Brown
Chris McKinney
Adrienne Patterson

Richmond Academy Interact Club

William Barfield
Thomas Wilson
Carson Dickinson
David Hogg

Meeting Makeup

Larry Toole 11-4- 19 On Line Make up
Faye Hargrove 10-28-19 Rotary Board of Dir. Meeting
Dustin Young 11-18-19 Rotary Board of Dir. Meeting
Chris McKinney 11-4-19 Rotary Board of Dir. Meeting
Brett Montroy 11-18-19 Rotary Board of Dir. Meeting

The following will receive a make up for attending the Rotary Board of Directors meeting held at Cranston Engineering on Tuesday, November 12, 2019:

Scott Williams
Leland Malchow
Shanda Vaughn
Dustin Young
Chris McKinney
Faye Hargrove
Kevin Grogan
Brett Montroy
Dora Hogg
Eddie Booth
Haskell Toporek
Steve Hobbs


Forester Adams
Melvin LaPan
Robert Baisden
Douglas McClure
Bob Baisden
Linda McKnight
Dee Beaird
Travis McNeal
Tony Bernados
Brad Means
Christine Betts
Christopher Melcher
Barclay Bishop
Connie Melear
Mark Bowen
Sam Meller
Mac Bowman
Brett Montroy
Felita Brady
Steve Munn
Conley Braun
Betts Murdison

Dave Brendza
Josh Nolan
Bennish Brown
Sheri Osburn
Carl Brown
Sue Parr
Larry Broyles
De Pierce
Brittany Burnette
Jim Price
Nate Cartwright
TR Reddy
Gretchan Caughman
Daniel Rhodes
Patrick Cullinan
Tariq Robinson
Jeanette Cummings
Stan Shepherd
Rob Dennis
Deborah Sleeth
Chris Etterlee
Steve Smith

Susan Everitt
John Snider
Laverne Gaskins
Stan Stanton
Mark Gilliam
Kevin Steffes
A K Gulati
Kyle Titus
Aimee Hall
Linda Tucciarone
Chad Harpley
Havird Usry
Steve Hobbs
Paul Wade
Millie Huff
Phil Wahl
Chris James
Hawthorne Welcher
Bill Keogh
George Williams
Ramone Lamkin
Dustin Young