District No. 6920 | Club No. 4189

August 19, 2019

Meeting Minutes

President Scott Williams rang the bell and called the meeting to order. George Hall gave the pledge and invocation. Thanks to our Inside challenger Hawthorne Welcher Jr. and outside challenger the Staff of MCG Foundation, together we raised $391. This week’s inside challenger is Frank Mulherin and outside challenger is Janice Allen Jackson and AssociatesDaniel Rhodes introduced our guests and visiting Rotarians. Tom Kiernan introduced our Interact Students. Connie Melear gave the Sunshine Report.

President Scott welcomed our GRSP Student – William Baerenhodlt. Anyone who has any opportunities in the coming weeks and months you would like to share with William please contact Susan Jernigan or Billy Franke. You can also contact William directly at 706-550-2331 or wbaerenholdt@augusta.edu.


  • President Scott presented Jennifer Pennington with her Paul Harris plus one pin.
  • The United Way kickoff will be on August 26th. We will not have a meeting that week; however, we encourage you to attend the kickoff instead.  Our club has six tables reserved. 
  • The following week will be Labor Day and we will not meet that week either. The next scheduled meeting is September 9th


Our program today is our College Football Kickoff Program and President Scott invited Commissioner Jeff Simless to come forward to host today’s event. Jeff explained the rules for this year’s Pick’em contest. By now everyone should have received an email from Ashley Duren about the games.  If you have not, please contact Jeff at jsimless@comcast.net as soon as possible.

Following the contest rules, Jeff invited distinguished guests to come up and give a scouting report for their favorite teams. The club was treated to stirring reports from the following:

  • Matt Barrett – Mercer University
  • Zach Kelehear – Furman University
  • Stacy Tallent – University of Tennessee
  • Billy Franke – Auburn University
  • David Hogg – University of South Carolina
  • Jerry Rogers – Georgia Institute of Technology
  • Frank Mulherin – University of Georgia
  • Ed Presnell – Clemson University

At the conclusion of the program, President Scott led us in reciting the four-way test and then adjourned the meeting.

Easy links to pages on our website
Rotary schedule of meeting dates and speakers  
Member Proposal Form 
Online directory - Find a member or update your information
Bulletins - Weekly bulletins from 2014-current


CART buckets
Inside Challenger: Frank Mulherin
Outside Challenger: Janice Jackson and Associates



Brian Sayer
Craig Bush
Kayla Loflin
Cole Townsend

Guest Of
Phil Wahl
Rick Lowe
Leigh Porterfield
Haskell Toporek

Richmond Academy Interact Club

Sam Means
Jay Beach
Christopher Saul
Harry Jones

Westminster Interact Club

Augusta Tech Rotaract Club

Visiting Rotarians

Tom Gray

Rotary Club of Leavenworth Kansas

Meeting Makeup

Kevin Wade 8-5-19 On Line Make up
Dora Hogg 8-12-19 On Line Make up
Ray Walters 8-19-19 GRSP student Airport pick up


Forester Adams
Brooks Keel
Stacie Adkins
Russell Keen
Robert Baisden
Ramone Lamkin
Jim Becton
Robetta McKenzie
Tony Bernados
Linda McKnight
Shell Berry
Travis McNeal
Christine Betts
Ian Meller
Barclay Bishop
Ian Mercier
Mark Bowen
Betts Murdison
Felita Brady
Anne Catherine Murray
Conley Braun
Sheri Osburn

Dave Brendza
Jeff Partl
Carl Brown
De Pierce
Larry Broyles
Jonathan Powell
David Bullington
Angela Pringle
Brittany Burnett
Jimmy Richards
Nate Cartwright
Tariq Robinson
Gretchan Caughman
Richard Rogers
Patrick Cullinan
John Sebby
Rob Dennis
Deborah Sleeth
Neal Dickert
Steve Smith
Chris Etterlee
John Snider

Julie Ferguson
Kevin Steffes
Jeff Flowers
Kyle Titus
Reyne Gallup
Larry Toole
Laverne Gaskins
Linda Tucciarone
Aimee Hall
Sonny Tucker
Faye Hargrove
Kevin Wade
Chad Harpley
Phil Wahl
Tripp Harrison
Hawthorne Welcher
Randy Hatcher
John Whitwell
Steve Hobbs
Willie Williams
Richard Isdell
George Williams
Melvin LaPan