District No. 6920 | Club No. 4189

August 12, 2019

Meeting Minutes

President Scott Williams rang the bell and called the meeting to order. Brittany Burnett gave the pledge and invocation. Thanks to our Inside challenger President Scott Williams and outside challenger Allstate Insurance Agent – James O’Neal, together we raised $488. This week’s inside challenger is Hawthorne Welcher Jr. and outside challenger is the Staff of MCG FoundationDaniel Rhodes introduced our guests and visiting Rotarians. Richard Rogers gave the Sunshine Report.

President Scott welcomed our GRSP Student – William Baerenhodlt. Anyone who has any opportunities in the coming weeks and months you would like to share with William please contact Susan Jernigan or Billy Franke. You can also contact William directly at 706-550-2331 or wbaerenholdt@augusta.edu.


  • Surendra Gupta invited everyone to participate in India Day 2019 to be held Saturday August 17 at 5:30 p.m. at the Miller Theater. Information sheets are on the table.
  • President Scott presented Laverne Gaskins with her Paul Harris plus one pin.
  • Our program for next week will be our College Football Kickoff Program and distinguished guests will give scouting reports for the top football teams in the region. Please come dressed to support your favorite team.
  • The United Way kickoff will be on August 26th. We will not have a meeting that week; however, we encourage you to attend the kickoff instead. Our club has six tables reserved. 


Chris Melcher introduced our guest speaker Ms. Katrina Keefer, CEO of Augusta University Health System. In addition to being the CEO of AU Health, Ms. Keefer also serves as the EVP for Health Affairs at Augusta University. Continued growth on both the hospital and academic sides of the University have resulted in shifting duties from Dr. Brooks Keel to Ms. Keefer’s position. 

With the many recent changes at the University, Ms. Keefer hopes to bring some stability, clarity and direction to the organization. She believes the organization faces problems that are both complicated and at the same time solvable. She hopes that improved communication within and outside of the organization along with collaboration and partnerships will help AU Medical reach its full potential. 

Ms. Keefer said we should expect to see the following under her leadership;

  • “Noise” – there will continue to be chatter about the changes taking place
  • Calm, rational, smart decisions being made
  • New partnerships and collaborations forming
  • Continued accolades and recognition on the national level for the work being done at AU Medical

At the conclusion of the program, President Scott led us in reciting the four-way test and then adjourned the meeting.

Easy links to pages on our website
Rotary schedule of meeting dates and speakers  
Member Proposal Form 
Online directory - Find a member or update your information
Bulletins - Weekly bulletins from 2014-current


CART buckets
Inside Challenger: Hawthorne Welcher
Outside Challenger: Augusta University Foundation



Katrina Keefe
Henry Knox
Jonathan English
Miles Jackson

Guest Of
Paul Dainer
Ed Presnell
Janice Jackson

Richmond Academy Interact Club

Westminster Interact Club

Augusta Tech Rotaract Club

Visiting Rotarians

Paula Stevens
Jacob Croft
Aubrey Highsmith

Rotary Club of Washington, Georgia
GRSP student for Rotary Club of Washington, Georgia
Augusta West Rotary Club

Meeting Makeup

Billy Franke 8-12-19 Greenjackets baseball game
Neal Dickert 8-12-19 Greenjackets baseball game
Matt Barrett 8-12-19 West Augusta Rotary club
Leigh Porterfield 8-12-19 Rotary Board of Directors Meeting
Chris McKinney 8-12-19 Rotary Board of Directors Meeting
Dustin Young 8-05-19 Rotary Board of Directors Meeting

The following will receive a make up for attending the Rotary Board of Directors meeting on Tuesday, August 13 at Cranston Engineering.

Scott Williams
Chris McKinney
Dustin Young
Kevin Grogan
Brett Montroy
Leigh Porterfield
Leland Malchow
Shanda Vaughn


Forester Adams
Ramone Lamkin
Stacie Adkins
Tony Lever
Bob Baisden
Rick Lowe
Matt Barrett
Ben McElreath
Jim Becton
Rob McKenzie
Tony Bernados
Chris McKinney
Shell Berry
Linda McKnight
Chris Bird
Travis McNeal
Barclay Bishop
Brad Means
Mark Bowen
Sam Meller
Mac Bowman
Betts Murdison
Conley Braun

Anne Catherine Murray
Bennish Brown
Sheri Osburn
Carl Brown
Sue Parr
Wes Brown
Jeff Partl
Larry Broyles
Jennifer Pennington
Nate Cartwright
De Pierce
Gretchen Caughman
Leigh Porterfield
Patrick Cullinan
Jonathan Powell
Rob Dennis
Angela Pringle
Neal Dickert
TR Reddy
Chris Etterlee
John Sebby
Susan Everitt
Deborah Sleeth

Billy Franke
Steve Smith
A K Gulati
John Snider
Aimee Hall
Stan Stanton
George Hall
Kevin Steffes
Faye Hargrove
Charles Stewart
Chad Harpley
Kyle Titus
Tripp Harrison
Larry Toole
Randy Hatcher
Linda Tucciarone
Dora Hogg
Havird Usry
Millie Huff
Paul Wade
Bill Keogh
Phil Wahl