District No. 6920 | Club No. 4189

May 13, 2019

Meeting Minutes

President Elect Scott Williams rang the bell and called the meeting to order. With the meeting following Mother’s Day, he asked all of the mothers in the room to stand and be recognized. Jeff Spears gave the pledge and invocationJeff Simless welcomed our guests and visiting Rotarians. Thanks to our inside challenger, TR Reddy and the outside challenger, Robert Osborne with South State Bank, the club raised $701.64 for CART at our last meeting in which we honored Carolyn Maund. This week the inside challenger is Chris Etterlee and our outside challenger is Fuller Frost and Associates. Gould Hagler gave our Sunshine Report.


  • The Club won the District Conference Cart Award for raising the most money for cart for the year.
  • In addition to the annual award, we were recognized for being in first place with a total giving of over $100,000 during the last 10-year period.
  • During the year, CART provided over $1 million in grants for Alzheimer’s research.
  • We also received the Gold Presidential Citation for meeting all of the criteria. A special thank you to Jimmy Richards and Scott Williams for their help submitting the application. 
  • Rotary Golf Tournament was held Tuesday May 7, 2019 at the River Club in North Augusta. A big Thank You to Frank Mulherin for coordinating the tournament. Congratulations to John Whitwell, Jeff Simless, Ed Presnell, and Billy Franke for winning the tournament. 
  • Many thanks to Matt Barrett, Susan Everitt and Chief James for helping the American Red Cross install new smoke alarms.  The event was a huge success.

New Members:

Jerry Woods introduced our newest member, Larry Toole, to the club.

Bill Kemp will be leading a new member orientation meeting today at 4:30 at the Instellisystems office.


Brenda Durant introduced our guest speaker, Jason Craig, Senior Designer with the Westobou Festival.

Jason is an artist and graphic designer based in Augusta since 1998. After relocating from the midwest Jason pursued a fine art career and created logos and branding for a wide array of local businesses.

From Beck’s, the Indian Queen and Riverwatch Brewery to the Jingle Jam and even the final rebrand of Augusta University, Jasons efforts are seen by all. He has worked diligently to create opportunities for other area creatives by organizing independent art events and through his job as Senior Designer at Westobou Festival.

Currently, Jason is the immediate past president of the American Advertising Federation Augusta and serves on the board of directors for the Greater Augusta Arts Council who honored him with the first ever Kath Girdler Engler Award for Public art this past year. Jason recently received one of eight Porter Fleming Grants from the Trustees of the Academy of Richmond County to create large murals on his downtown studio, Pink Slips.

Following the presentation, President Elect Scott Williams led us in reciting the four-way test and then adjourned the meeting. 

Next week’s program will be Sean Edwards with the Land Bank Authority.  We will also salute our military next week. 

There will be no meeting on May 27 in observance of Memorial Day.    

Easy links to pages on our website
Rotary schedule of meeting dates and speakers  
Member Proposal Form 
Online directory - Find a member or update your information
Bulletins - Weekly bulletins from 2014-current


CART buckets
Inside Challenger: Chris Etterlee
Outside Challenger: Fuller Frost



Jason Craig
Charles Sharpe
Sean Edwards
Josh Nolan
Bradley Williams

Guest Of
Guest Speaker
Patrick Cullinan
Brenda Durant
Wes Brown
Anna Reeves

Richmond Academy Interact Club

Westminster Interact Club

Augusta Tech Rotaract Club

Visiting Rotarians



Meeting Makeup

Brittany Burnett 5-13-19 On Line Make up
Phil Wahl 5-13-19 Rotary Club of Aiken
Tariq Robinson 5-13-19 Red Badge Meeting
Shell Berry 5-13-19 Red Badge Meeting
Faye Hargrove 5-13-19 Rotary Board of Directors Meeting
Shanda Vaughn 5-13-19 Rotary Board of Directors Meeting

The Following will receive a make up for attending the Red Badge Orientation Meeting held on Monday, May 13, 2019.
Shell Berry
Larry Toole
Felita Brady
Ed Presnell
Mac Bowman
Frank Mulherin
Julie Ferguson
Herb Upton
Steve Munn
Kevin Wade
De Pierce
Dustin Young
Tariq Robinson
Bill Kemp

The following will receive a make up for attending the Rotary Board of Directors meeting held at Cranston Engineering on Tuesday, May 14, 2019.
Leland Malchow
Kevin Grogan
Scott Williams
Faye Hargrove
Shanda Vaughn
Dustin Young
Brett Montroy
Dora Hogg


Forester Adams
Brooks Keel
Stacie Adkins
Russell Keen
Clay Bednarz
Scott Kelly
Tony Bernados
Tom Kiernan
Shell Berry
Jim Laura
Christine Betts
Tony Lever
Chris Bird
Rick Lowe
Barclay Bishop
Leland Malchow
Steve Boler
Robetta McKenzie
Mark Bowen
Linda McKnight
Conley Braun
Sam Meller
Dave Brendza
Betts Murdison
Bennish Brown
Sheri Osburn

Carl Brown
Tim Owings
Dave Bullington
Natalie Paine
Brittany Burnett
Sue Parr
Nate Cartwright
Jeff Partl
Gretchan Caughman
Leigh Porterfield
Tom Clark
Jonathan Powell
Len Collins
Angela Pringle
Tom Denlinger
TR Reddy
Rob Dennis
Daniel Rhodes
John Donaldson
Jimmy Richards
Susan Everitt
Tariq Robinson
Fran Forehand
Jerry Rogers
Rick Franza
Richard Rogers

Renye Gallup
John Sebby
A K Gulati
Stan Shepherd
Aimee Hall
Deborah Sleeth
Faye Hargrove
Steve Smith
Chad Harpley
John Snider
Tripp Harrison
Stan Stanton
Millie Huff
Kevin Steffes
Janice Jackson
Stacy Tallent
Judy Kaye
Kyle Titus
Linda Tucciarone
Paul Wade
Phil Wahl
Frank Ward
John Whitwell
Willie Williams
George Williams
Margaret Woodard