District No. 6920 | Club No. 4189

March 11, 2019

Meeting Minutes

Bell rung at 12:15 PM
Pledge/Invocation: Robert Osborne
Guests/visiting Rotarians: AK Golatti
Sunshine Report: Gould Hagler
Interact Students:  None Present


Last week we raised $327 for the Cart Fund thanks to our inside challenger Brenda Durant and outside challenger Shanda Vaughn. This week the inside challenger is Clay Jolly and the outside challenger is Havird Usry and Southern Salad.


  • President Leland announced that on Monday, March 18, we will not have a regular lunch meeting, but will instead celebrate St. Patrick’s Day with a social from 5:00-7:00 p.m.  Everyone and a guest are invited and all members are encouraged to bring potential membership prospects.  We will enjoy Irish music, food, and beverages.
  • He thanked Bill Kemp, Bob Baisden, and Dustin Young for their hard work preparing this year’s club roster.  A copy is at the door for everyone.
  • The Speech Contest Committee will be meeting today at the conclusion of the club meeting. 
  • President Leland also recognized several club members for their contribution of articles to the latest edition of the 1736 magazine.   Dr. Mandawat was recently spotlighted in the Augusta Chronicle for implanting the world’s smallest pacemaker.


John Whitwell introduced our newest member, a fellow Canadian, Mr. Steve Munn.


President Leland introduced our speaker Mrs. Janice Jackson, a club member and Augusta City Administrator.   Before starting her presentation, Mrs. Jackson asked all club members to support one of several fundraising activities benefitting the American Heart Association.  In addition to raising funds, they are also honoring two long-term commissioners who recently passed away.

Mrs. Jackson provided an update on both the SPLOST 6 and 7 projects.  The Special Purpose Local Option Sales Tax (SPLOST) was approved by the voters with over 60% supporting the 1% sales tax.  Once approved, the tax is collected until the original target amount is reached.  SPLOST 6 had a target of $215 million and was collected during 2011 and 2016.  SPLOST 7 began in 2016 and is anticipated to end in 2021. 

Funds from SPLOST are used primarily for capital improvement projects that otherwise the city would not have the funds to pay for.  Without this revenue, the city would have to rely on approximately $3.7 million collected from ad valorem taxes or general obligation bonds.

Some of the projects include road work, improvements to the airport, renovations to the museum, and improvements to Diamond Lakes park just to name a few.  The city tries to spread the funds to all geographic areas and a full list of projects along with updates is included on the city’s website. 

SPLOST 8 discussions begin this week but it will be several months before a recommendation is ready for the voters. 

In response to a question, Mrs. Jackson indicated that currently SPLOST funds could not be used for maintenance of facilities.  This limitation has been discussed with state representatives, but cannot be changed unless approved by the Georgia General Assembly.


Following her presentation, President Leland presented Mrs. Jackson with her Paul Harris pin. 


Our next meeting will be March 25, 2019 and our speaker will be Richmond County Marshall Ramone Lamkin.

President Leland led the club in the 4-way test and the meeting was adjourned at 1:15 PM. 

Easy links to pages on our website
Rotary schedule of meeting dates and speakers  
Member Proposal Form 
Online directory - Find a member or update your information
Bulletins - Weekly bulletins from 2014-current

Save the Date:

Annual Rotary Club Golf Tournament
Tuesday, May 7th


CART buckets
Inside Challenger: Clay Jolly
Outside Challenger: Havird Usry



Janice Jackson
Jarvis Sims
Tony McDonald

Guest Of
Guest Speaker
Janice Jackson
Janice Jackson

Richmond Academy Interact Club

Westminster Interact Club

Augusta Tech Rotaract Club

Visiting Rotarians



Meeting Makeup

Millie Huff 3-11-19 Red Badge Orientation
Ed Presnell 3-11-19 Red Badge Orientation
Brett Montroy 3-11-19 Rotary Board of Directors Meeting
Shanda Vaughn 3-11-19 Rotary Board of Directors Meeting
The following will receive a makeup for attending the Rotary Board of Directors Meeting held on Tuesday, March 12 at Cranston Engineering.

Leland Malchow
Scott Williams
Kevin Grogan
Shanda Vaughn
Faye Hargrove
Dustin Young
Brett Montroy


Forester Adams
Judy Kaye
Robert Baisden
Brooks Keel
Jimi Becton
Russell Keen
Clay Bednarz
Zach Kelehear
Tony Bernados
Scott Kelly
Barclay Bishop
Jim Laura
Mark Bowen
Mahendra Mandawat
Conley Braun
Robetta McKenzie
Dave Brendza
Linda McKnight
Carl Brown
Gene McManus
Larry Broyles
Travis McNeal
Brittany Burnett
Brad Means
Nate Cartwright
Chris Melcher
Gretchan Caughman

Connie Melear
Tom Clark
Sam Meller
Len Collins
Ian Mercier
Gwendolyn Conner
Brett Montroy
Patrick Cullinan
Betts Murdison
Jeanette Cummings
Natalie Paine
Rob Dennis
Jeff Partl
John Donaldson
Leigh Porterfield
Ashlee Duren
Jonathan Powell
Chris Etterlee
Ed Presnell
Bob Evans
TR Reddy
Susan Everitt
Anna Reeves
Reyne Gallup
Daniel Rhodes
Laverne Gaskins
Jimmy Richards

Mark Gilliam
Richard Rogers
Surendra Gupta
Hal Scott
Aimee Hall
Stan Shepherd
George Hall
Deborah Sleeth
Chad Harpley
Steve Smith
Randy Hatcher
John Snider
James Heffner
Jeff Spears
Steve Hobbs
Kevin Steffes
Dora Hogg
Shanda Vaughn
David Hudson
Paul Wade
Millie Huff
Phil Wahl
Susan Jernigan
Ray Walters
Willie Williams
Hawthorne Welcher
Margaret Woodard