District No. 6920 | Club No. 4189

Rotary Bulletin

July 9, 2018

Meeting Minutes

President Leland Malchow rang the bell to call the first meeting of the new year to order. Jeff Flowers gave the Pledge and Invocation.  Connie Melear led the club in a beautiful rendition of the national anthem. Daniel Rhodes introduced the guests and visiting Rotarians. At our last meeting we raised $395.70 for CART. The inside challenger was Rotarian Steve Hobbs and the outside challenger was Past President Ed Presnell. This week the inside challenger is President Leland and the outside challenger is Nimmons and Malchow, P.C. The Sunshine Report was presented by Faye Hargrove who challenged each of us to perform one unsolicited act of kindness every day this week.


President Leland asked Past President Ed and Bill Kemp to step in front of the podium to help him present Bob Baisden with the prestigious Kemp-Puryear Award. Bob was recognized for his outstanding effort with the CART Fund. 

President Leland recognized and presented pins to the following club members for their perfect attendance:

  • Dora Hogg – 2 years
  • John Whitwell – 7 years
  • Kevin Wade – 11 years
  • Billy Franke- 17 years
  • Ray Walters – 18 years
  • Betty Dyches – 20 years
  • Neita Mulherin – 25 years
  • Bill Kemp – 48 years

He also introduced and recognized this year’s Board of Directors which include;

  • President Elect: Scott Williams
  • Treasurer and President Nominee: Dustin Young
  • Director: Faye Hargrove
  • Director: Chris McKinney
  • Director: Dora Hogg
  • Director: Kevin Grogan
  • Director: Shanda Vaughn
  • Director: Brett Montroy

President Leland called upon Chris James to introduce our newest member, Natalie Paine. He also congratulated Anna Reeves on the birth of her son and shared an invite for club members to attend a very special retirement celebration for Laverne Gold that will be held on August 9th


With this being the first meeting of the Rotary year, President Leland shared the Board’s vision for the next 12 months which included the following five key areas:

  1. International – focus on Polio Plus and taking advantage of the Gates Foundation generous offer to provide a triple match of any dollars raised by the club.
  2. CART – Continue to perform at a very high level by raising funds for Alzheimer’s Research.  We have raised more money than any other club in our district for 10 of the last 11 years.
  3. SMASH Alzheimer – John Whitwell spoke on a new campaign similar to the Ice Bucket Challenge to raise money for research.  More details to follow, but we are going to breaking a lot of stuff.
  4. Signature Fund Raiser - Shanda Vaughn is chairing a Committee that will hold a fundraiser to benefit the youth of our community. Stay tuned for further details  
  5. FUN – we are going to continue to build on the fine work done by the Family of Rotary Committee to plan events for club members and their family.  We are also looking to change up some of the meeting logistics to allow for a more social atmosphere. 

President Leland asked that the CART, GRSP, Programs, Signature Fundraiser, and Family of Rotary Committees meet immediately following the close of this meeting to begin making plans for this year. 

Aiken Rotary will be hosting a GreenJackets game August 1st.  Anyone interested in attending should reach out to Past President Ed Presnell.

In closing, President Leland introduced and thanked Emily Tittle for providing audio visual assistance during the meeting.  Emily will join President Leland from time to time to facilitate his presentation.

Our next meeting will be July 16th and the speaker will be Kristi Jilson, Executive Director of the Westobou Festival.

The meeting was adjourned with the Four Way Test.


Easy links to pages on our website
Rotary schedule of meeting dates and speakers  
Member Proposal Form 
Online directory - Find a member or update your information
Bulletins - Weekly bulletins from 2014-current


CART buckets
Inside Challenger: Leland Malchow
Outside Challenger: Nimmons, Malchow and Johnson



Kayla Cooper
Shadrick Clay

Guest Of
Faye Hargrove
Kurt Mueller

Richmond Academy Interact Club

Augusta Tech Rotaract Club

Visiting Rotarians



Meeting Makeup

The following will receive a makeup for attending the Rotary Board of Directors meeting held on Tuesday, July 10, Cranston Engineering.

Leland Malchow


Forester Adams
Jim Laura
Stacie Adkins
Mahendra Mandawat
Erin Armstrong
Rob McKenzie
Dee Beaird
Linda McKnight
Clay Bednarz
Travis McNeal
Shell Berry
Brad Means
Barclay Bishop
Betts Murdison
Mark Bowen
Tim Owings
Steve Braun
Sue Parr

Carl Brown
Jeff Partl
Greg Capers
Jennifer Pennington
Andy Carrier
Leigh Porterfield
Gretchen Caughman
Jonathan Powell
Tom Clark
Jim Price
Patrick Cullinan
Angela Pringle
Rob Dennis
Jimmy Richards
Neal Dickert
Jerry Rogers
Rick Donaldson
Richard Rogers

Fran Forehand
Jeff Simless
Aimee Hall
Deborah Sleeth
George Hall
Steve Smith
Tripp Harrison
John Snider
Randy Hatcher
Kevin Steffes
Steve Hobbs
Linda Tucciarone
Richard Isdell
George Williams
Gary Jones
Margaret Woodard
Zach Kelehear