District No. 6920 | Club No. 4189

Rotary Bulletin

June 25, 2018

Meeting Minutes

Ring Bell @ 12:15 p.m. – Monday, June 25, 2018, Meeting Comes to Order. Tom Clark led us in the Pledge and gave the Invocation. Guests and Visiting Rotarians introduced by Clay Jolly. Sunshine Report given by Barclay Bishop, noting President Ed’s passion for the Star Spangled Banner anthem, gave its history and highlighted his more notable critiques of outstanding and poor performances.

At our last meeting, we raised $264.99 for CART. Inside challenger was Rotarian Neita Mulherin and Rotarian Bob Baisden was the outside challenger. This week the inside challenger is Rotarian Steve Hobbs and President Ed Presnell is the outside challenger. Let’s continue helping the committee as we transition years so we can maintain our leadership in the District. 

Rotarian Bill Keogh read a Resolution in memory of Past Member Menard Ihnen.

President Ed presented Ray Walters as our newest Will Watt Fellow. Ray was recognized for his support of the GRSP program and his support of Jakob Fahl who just completed his Rotary year with our club. Rotarian Tom Kiernan was presented with his Paul Harris Fellow +4 pin.

President Ed made Club Secretary Peggy Whitehurst a Paul Harris Fellow in recognition of her long and excellent service to our Club.

Special Announcement: President Ed (joined by Rotarians Bill Kemp and Jim Puryear) announced the winners of this year’s KEMP-PURYEAR AWARD given to Rotarians who exemplify the values and spirit of Rotary. Usually given to a single individual, President Ed described an unresolvable tie among this year’s candidates. He then presented the 2018 KEMP-PURYEAR AWARD to Rotarians Neita Mulherin and Bob Baisden.  


  • Please complete the survey for almost-President Leland Malchow.
  • In recognition of the July 4th Holiday, there will be no meeting on 07.02.18. Our next meeting will be on Monday, July 9, 2018

President Ed requested that attending past Club Presidents stand and assemble in the calendar order of their presidencies for the traditional Passing of the Gavel Ceremony. When the Gavel reached him, President Ed passed it to incoming President Leland Malchow.

President Leland recognized and thanked Past President Ed for his service and the club acknowledged him with a standing ovation. President Leland then led us in the Four Way Test and rang the bell to adjourn the meeting at 1:15 PM.

Easy links to pages on our website
Rotary schedule of meeting dates and speakers  
Member Proposal Form 
Online directory - Find a member or update your information
Bulletins - Weekly bulletins from 2014-current


CART buckets
Inside Challenger: Steve Hobbs
Outside Challenger: Ed Presnell



Mark Hodges
Khushba Patel
Mrs. Sue Kemp
Mrs. Joan Puryear
Mrs. Jana Malchow
Mr. Lee Malchow

Guest Of
Stacie Adkins
Laverne Gaskins

Richmond Academy Interact Club

Augusta Tech Rotaract Club

Visiting Rotarians



Meeting Makeup

Brad Means 6-11-18 On-Line Make up
Chris McKinney 6-18-18 Rotary Board of Directors Meeting
Darryl Leech 6-25-18 On-Line Make up


Forester Adams
Robetta Mckenzie
Bob Baisden
Gene McManus
Matt Barrett
Chris Melcher
Shell Berry
Ian Mercier
Steve Boler
Erick Montgomery
Marilyn Bowcutt
Brett Montroy
Conley Braun
Betts Murdison
David Brendza
Anne Catherine Murray
Carl Brown
Sheri Osburn
Larry Broyles
Tim Owings

Greg Capers
Sue Parr
Gretchen Caughman
Jeff Partl
Paul Dainer
Jonathan Powell
Rick Donaldson
Anna Reeves
Betty Dyches
Daniel Rhodes
Chris Etterlee
Scott Seidl
Susan Everitt
Stan Shepherd
Jeff Flowers
Jeff Simless
Billy Franke
Deborah Sleeth
Mark Gilliam
John Snider

Laverne Gold
Kevin Steffes
Faye Hargrove
Charles Stewart
Tripp Harrison
Linda Tucciarone
Randy Hatcher
Havird Usry
James Heffner
Shanda Vaughn
Brooks Keel
Paul Wade
Russell Keen
Scott Williams
Darryl Leech
George Williams
Mahendra Mandawat
Margaret Woodard
Ben McElreath