District No. 6920 | Club No. 4189

Rotary Bulletin

June 26, 2017

Meeting Minutes

President Jennifer Pennington rang the bell and brought the meeting to order at 12:15 PM, Monday, 26 June 2017. Jeff Flowers led the club in the pledge and invocation. President Jennifer provided the Rotary Moment this week by giving a brief history of the Rotary flag and the meaning of its colors and symbols. Patrick Cullinan introduced visiting Rotarians and member guests. President Jennifer reported that at our last meeting, we raised $422.14 with the support of inside challenger Sheri Osburn. This week the outside challenger is Signarama. Faye Hargrove gave the Sunshine report.


President Jennifer recognized Brenda Durant for her 20 years of service to the Arts Council.  She also recognized the following club members for perfect attendance:

  • Dora Hogg – 1 year
  • Jerry Rogers – 5 years
  • John Whitwell – 6 years
  • Kevin Wade – 10 years
  • Billy Franke – 16 years
  • Ray Walters – 17 years
  • Betty Dyches – 19 years
  • Neita Mulherin – 24 years
  • Bill Kemp – 47 years

President Jennifer invited Bill Kemp and Jim Puryear onstage to help her present the Kemp-Puryear Distinguished Rotarian Award to Dee Beaird. Dee accepted the award with genuine surprise and humbleness. He was particularly recognized for his work this year spearheading the Imperial Theater renovation project in which he took a $1,700 donation and stretched it to include new paint, furniture, and carpets for the theater.

In lieu of a formal speaker today, President Jennifer led the club in the passing of the gavel by introducing all former club presidents in attendance. At the conclusion, she passed the gavel to President Elect Ed Presnell. Following the transition, President Ed presented Past President Jennifer with her new pin and badge as well as a plaque showing our appreciation for her year of service as President.

REMINDERThere is no meeting next week due to the Independence Day Holiday. Our next meeting is on July 10th, where we will have our club assembly. 

The meeting was adjourned following the recital of the Four Way Test.

Easy links to pages on our website
Rotary schedule of meeting dates and speakers  
Member Proposal Form 
Online directory - Find a member or update your information
Bulletins - Weekly bulletins from 2014-current


CART buckets
Inside Challenger:
Outside Challenger: Heath Braddum - Signarama



Joan Puryear
Heath Braddum
Carol Steffes
David Hall
Brady Hughes
Pam Lightsey

Guest Of
Jim Puryear
Sheri Osburn
Kevin Steffes
George Hall
Leland Malchow
Rotary District Governor

Richmond Academy Interact Club

Augusta Tech Rotaract Club

Visiting Rotarians

Ricardo Bravo

Martinez Evans Rotary Club

Meeting Makeup

Paul Dainer 6-26-17 Rotary International Convention
Dora Hogg 6-19-17 On Line Make up
Bill Kemp 6-22-17 Augusta West Rotary Club
Darryl Leech 6-26-17 On Line Make Up


Michael Ash
Russell Keen
Shell Berry
Scott Kelly
Chris Betts
Darryl Leech
Chris Bird
Carolyn Maund
Barclay Bishop
Travis McNeal
Steve Boler
Brad Means
Greg Capers
Chris Melcher
Jeanette Cummings
Ian Mercier
Paul Dainer

Brett Montroy
Tom Denlinger
Frank Mulherin
Rob Dennis
Betts Murdison
Ashlee Duren
Anne Catherine Murray
Bob Evans
Sue Parr
Susan Everitt
Jeff Partl
Rick Franza
Leigh Porterfield
Bobby Gagnon
Jonathan Powell
Laverne Gaskins
Angela Pringle

Mark Gilliam
Daniel Rhodes
Laverne Gold
Harold Scott
Richard Harmon
Walter Sprouse
Chad Harpley
Charles Stewart
Randy Hatcher
Linda Tucciarone
James Heffner
Shanda Vaughn
Rick Herring
Barry White
Brooks Keel
Margaret Woodard