District No. 6920 | Club No. 4189

Rotary Bulletin

August 1, 2016

Meeting Minutes

President Jennifer Pennington rang the bell and called the meeting to order.

The pledge and invocation was given by Erick Montgomery.

President Jennifer gave a “Rotary Moment” and told how our founder, Paul Harris, used the planting of trees to promote fellowship, friendship, and goodwill.  She shared a short black and white video showing him planting trees in the 1940s.  During his lifetime, he traveled to many countries promoting the ideals of Rotary and planted a tree in each one. 

Daniel Rhodes welcomed our guests and visiting Rotarians.

CART:  Thanks to AK Gulati and our outside challenger Georgia Bank and Trust Financial Services the club raised $356.46 for CART at our last meeting.  This week the inside challenger is Betts Murdison and the outside challenger is Jani-King of Augusta

Brad Means gave our Sunshine Report. 


She reminded the club that our Rotary Family Night at the Greenjackets baseball game will take place 8/12/16 at 7:00 and tickets are only $5 per person and we have nearly 60 folks registered.

Rotary Leadership Institute is August 13th in Augusta.  Anyone interested in participating should contact President Jennifer.

The GRSP Conclave will take place August 26-28 in Augusta.  We need 10 more families to agree to host 2-3 students that weekend.  Forms are on the table.

Our GRSP student, Sophie Pederson will arrive this week and be staying with Susan Jernigan until she is able to move into the campus housing on August 13th

Haskell Toporek provided a report from the Hull Fund.  The fund has been providing student loans and educational grants since the 1920s.  Over the years the Board of Education turned its educational fund over to Rotary in order to combine resources.  In 1975, the fund was renamed the James M. Hull Rotary Education Fund.  Trustees serve three year terms and today we had two members, Jeff Futrelle and Connie Melear, retire from the board.  Ridge Whitehurst and Faye Hargrove will be joining the board to start a three year term.

New Members:

John Whitwell introduced Chad Harpley, President of Premier Networx


Shell Berry introduced our speaker, Joe Huff, a local attorney who serves as Vice President of the Miller Theatre.  Mr. Huff detailed the investment being made in the amount of $23 million to revitalize the historic theatre. 

Once completed, the facility which includes the 710 Building next door will provide 60,000 square feet of space and 1300 seats.  It will house the Augusta Symphony which will have a permanent home for the first time ever and will be a cultural center for all types of musical and dramatic productions. 

Construction will begin this month and is scheduled to be completed during 4th quarter 2017.  This project is a result of the combined effort of both the state and local governments, as well, as significant financial support from private foundations and individuals.  Anyone interested in a tour is encouraged to call the theatre. 

Following the presentation, President Jennifer led us in reciting the four way test and then adjourned the meeting. 

Next meeting August 8, 2016 and the speaker will be District Governor Pam Lightsey.


CART buckets
Inside Challenger: Betts Murdison
Outside Challenger: Jani-King of Augusta



Joe Huff
Congressman Rick Allen
Brinsley Thigpen
Aubry Rhodes
Deborah Sleeth

Guest Of
Guest Speaker - Miller Theatre
Jennifer Pennington
Jennifer Pennington
Daniel Rhodes
TR Reddy

Interact Club

Visiting Rotarians



Meeting Makeup

Ray Walters 7-11-16 On Line Make up
John Whitwell 7-18-16 Red Badge Orientation
Gretchen Caughman 8-1-16 Red Badge Orientation
James Heffner 8-1-16 Red Badge Orientation
Chris McKinney 8-1-16 Red Badge Orientation

The following will receive a make up for attending the Red Badge Orientation held on August 1.

Steve Boler
Tom Clark
Gretchen Caughman
James Heffner
John Snider
Bill Kemp
Shell Berry
Chris McKinney
Jennifer Pennington
Herb Upton
Kevin Wade
John Whitwell


Forester Adams
Rob McKenzie
Barclay Bishop
Travis McNeal
Peter Buckley
Chris Melcher
Betty Carter
Ian Mercier
Gretchen Caughman
Brett Montroy
Rob Dennis
Betts Murdison
Ashlee Duren
Jeb Murray
Steve Farmer
Jim Osborne
Fran Forehand
Susan Parr
Steve Foushee

Jeff Partl
Bobby Gagnon
Leigh Porterfield
Laverne Gaskins
Jonathan Powell
Gould Hagler
Ed Presnell
Aimee Hall
Angela Pringle
Rick Hall
Susan Rice
Randy Hatcher
Richard Rogers
James Heffner
Jeff Schwab
Rick Herring
John Sebby
David Hudson
Walter Sprouse

Keith Hull
Stan Stanton
Clay Jolly
Kevin Steffes
Brooks Keel
Charles Stewart
Russell Keen
Linda Tucciarone
Scott Kelly
Sonny Tucker
Leland Malchow
Phil Wahl
Mahendra Mandawat
Ray Walters
Kevin Mayne
Barry White
Ben McElreath
Margaret Woodard